In the dream, I am waking in a small room with a very big bed, a four poster with a rectangle of white silk at the top, and a rich red blanket on top of soft white sheets. The room is made of a kind of stone that holds a golden glow in the morning light. I can smell incense. I stand and go to the window, which is actually a huge balcony, open to the street far below.

There’s no more of it that I remember, but I remember that part so strongly, that two years later it is clear as a bell.

And Monday night when I saw the picture on the right, I very nearly lost my shit –  the place in that dream is a real place, Jaisalmer Fort in Rajasthan, India. Color me weirded out. I’m still trying to figure out the significance of all that – I’ll let you know if I come to any conclusions that are illuminating, kk?

Also, for reference, I saved the above picture on my Pinterest board Places, where I’m collecting pictures of places that let me escape in little bitty bits over the day to a place where things are content (and pretty). Feel free to take a peek.

 

 

