So. I’ve made yellow rice about a zillion times with just a side of the guacamole, and I’ve made yellow rice about a zillion time with just chicken. Last night I couldn’t decide, so I made them all together, and, well, it was lovely. So I thought I’d share with you.

Fair warning: this is a terribly untraditional guacamole. Years and years ago I was in NYC for the summer with my friend Atlanta, and while we were living on the cheap (cheap!), we discovered that Benny’s Burritos (6th & A) could feed us cheaply and deliciously on guac and chips for a pittance. When we returned to Ohio, we spent weeks trying to perfect some sort of approximation of Benny’s guac. We didn’t necessarily succeed, but we came up with something really yummy, in any case.

Fair warning, again: this meal involves cans and prepared stuffs. If you don’t like that kind of thing, don’t reply, just let it fly. But I find that sometimes I totally don’t have time to do much more than pamper up some grocery store stuffs or combine some Trader Joe’s* business, and a mere 20 minutes of prep is a really great alternative to carryout, amirite?

Chicken With Yellow Rice and Creamy Guacamole feeds 4

Chicken and Yellow Rice**
2 8oz packages of Vigo yellow rice***
1 10oz can Rotel with green chilies
2 large chicken breasts, cut in halves or thirds

1. In a large, wide pan with a lid, bring to a boil the recommended amount of water that the Vigo rice package suggests. Add rice and Rotel (water and all, don’t drain it), stir to bring back to a boil. Once boiling, add the chicken pieces, cover and reduce heat, and follow the Vigo instructions to the end. I like to take it off the heat but leave the lid on for another five to ten minutes before serving, just to make sure the rice is finished.

Guacamole, Well, Sort Of
2 ripe Hass avocados
3-4 cloves of garlic, diced finely or run through a garlic press
2 roma tomatoes, chopped into bite-sized pieces, seeds removed
1 1/2Tbsp sour cream

1. Peel and quarter the avocados, remove any yucky bits, determine which quarters are softest, and put those in a bowl. Mash those ones with a fork. Chop the quarters that are firmer into bite sized-pieces and set aside.
2. Add the sour cream and garlic, mix well.
3. Add tomatoes and reserved avocado pieces, and with a spoon, mix gently so as not to squish the avocado pieces.

Voilá, dinner! Will actually makes happy sighs when eating this, and Man Cub reminds me every time I make it, that this is his Favorite Meal.

***

*Amigod, I love some Trader Joe’s.
**You can also just cook the rice by itself, according to the package instructions, if you want to have a vegetarian meal.
***You can also use Goya yellow rice, no harm, no foul – I just really like how Vigo does it. Same with the Rotel – I’m pretty sure Hunts has a canned diced tomato with chilies, too, but I haven’t had the chance to try it out.

