Ok, so sometimes I wake up and coffee and toast just won’t do it for me, and all I want is something savory and spicy. Oftentimes it’s soup – dog knows I love a big bowl of soupy noodles* like nobody’s business. Sometimes it’s scrambled eggs with sriracha that I crave. Hell, sometimes I just grab the jar of kimchi out of the fridge door and eat it with my fingers on the kitchen floor while Our Man Cub gets ready for school and I wait for the shower to free up. But sometimes I prefer something a little more gut-sticking. If there’s leftover rice, hello, it’s time to break out the frying pan and the kimchi. This recipe is simple, uses leftovers, and makes the belly a happy, warm thing.

Kimchi Riceserves 2

2c leftover (cooked) rice
Kimchi** – any kind, and as much as you like, depending on how much heat you like in breakfast
2 eggs, beaten with 1Tbsp cold water
1Tbsp oil
optional
1/4c frozen peas or edamame
2 green onions, chopped

1. Heat oil in a skillet over medium high heat (see note below about sesame oil). When the oil is hot, add rice and kimchi, and warm it through.
2. Once the rice and kimchi are heated through, pour in the egg. Keep the mixture moving around so that the egg gets cooked through but the rice doesn’t burn. When the eggs are still a little wet, but nearly cooked, add the peas or edamame if you’d like. Continue to cook, moving everything around, until the eggs are cooked through.
3. If you choose, top with the chopped green onion, serve while still piping hot.

Enjoy!

*All jazzed up, thank you, with some hot peppers and a poached egg and some edamame, and of course, some scallions chopped up over the top – heaven!
**While I like the cucumber kimchi (oh the tang!) best for eating straight from the jar with my fingers, I like the cabbage kimchi for this recipe especially, because it holds up really well in the heat.
***I use olive, but you might like peanut or sesame for fragrance and flavor. Don’t forget, tho’, sesame oil has a really low flash point. So if you do opt to use sesame, keep the heat in the medium-to-low range to ensure nothing gets a burnt, smokey taste. Unless of course, you like the smokey flavor, natch.

