Have you read The Hunger Games yet? One of the nicest things about Our Man Cub being thirteen now is that we not only read together*, but we can share books independently. I read the book (well, books) after hearing about it for probably a year from all my friends. I have no idea why it took me so long to get around it it – prolly ‘cos I was buried in  the Song of Fire & Ice books for the better part of three seasons, right? But anyway, Hunger Games, the whole series (there are three books), was wonderful – a page-turner, and a quick read as well, and I passed the books on as I finished them, to Man Cub, who devoured them, and then passed them off to Jaquelyn, who also loved them. Her beau listened to them on audio book, too, so all of us wound up chatting quite a bit about these books after we’d all caught up – a merry little book party, for sure!

Well! When it was announced that the first book is being made into a movie, we all got pretty excited. It’s coming out on the 23rd, and I’m keeping fingers crossed that it’s done well,** and planning to pick up movie tickets in advance. We are stoked =D

Also out soon (June 22nd) will be Brave, a Disney Pixar film that looks pretty fantastic. It appears we finally have a Disney with an actual girl hero \o/ The trailers give me chills, both with the content and the beauty of the whole thing (also the score sounds gorgeous). Look! Look!


Holy carp, right??

And in between, hello Game of Thrones season two! We’re planning to start recording them on April 1st when the season starts up, and stack a few up to watch all on one binge – whee! Check out the trailer, and tell me it doesn’t raise the hairs on your neck –

WooT! So, um, let me know if you want to go to the theater with the residents of No. 208 next month or in the summer, and if you would care to join us for a GoT viewing party sometime a few weeks into April =)

***

*Currently storytime is centered around The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. It’s turning out to be super fun – I haven’t read it in so long that it’s all a little fresh for me, and Man Cub, having never read it, is giggling his way through. Good Times.
**We shall not speak of the mess made of The Golden Compass when it became film. Neither shall we speak of the casting choices for the Percy Jackson book-to-movie travesty. We shall think happy Harry Potter thoughts and move on to the ticket counter.

