So, I’ve been cuddling up this last few weeks, reading Dune. I needed something to read, and while in the bookstore, it occurred to me that I had never actually read Dune, that I had only seen the movie, and that was a loooong time ago. Suddenly Dune references are popping up all over. Have I unwittingly hooked into a zeitgeist?

Well, this morning Will emailed me a link to something just wonderful –

If you’ve read Dune, and you’ve read Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown, you may love this as much as I do. Clicky on the pic to go read the whole thing. I giggled a lot.

I’ve finished the main book (Dune, not Goodnight Dune – that was a quick read), and am on to the appendices now. And while I do not love this book for the portrayal of the female characters*, I do kind of love this book for its setting and depth. The politics were interesting, which is good, as they’re the driving force of the plot line, natch. But the setting and the world that Herbert created is the catch for me. I find myself actually wanting to read the appendices because I want more info about things like the ecology of Arrakis. At some point in the coming week, after I’ve finished the book, I’ll go and look at the movie again. I hear that SciFi Channel did a miniseries too – I’m interested in checking that out, too. ***

***

*Women are the scheming weirdos in this book, of course. Herbert almost manages to get it right with Chani – almost. This book certainly does not pass the Bechdel Test.** And then Herbert really blows it when Paul talks with Jessica about the space where the Bene Geserit cannot look. That bit annoyed the hell out of me.
**The Bechdel Test:

  1. It has to have at least two women in it,
  2. Who talk to each other,
  3. About something other than a man.

I have to go back to be 100% certain, but I’m pretty sure that whenever women talk to each other (which doesn’t happen too frequently), they talk either directly or indirectly about the mens.
***Only adding to the reasons for resubscribing to Netflix.

